An Original Poem for Christmas

Nativity

One dark night,

my life opened,

and Love came–

not in a chariot

drawn by fine, white horses,

but after agonizing pain,

He slipped,

screaming,

into my arms

and changed this world forever.

* * * * * * * * * *

There were no princely robes

nor stately palace

with a soft, warm bed

to welcome this King of Kings–

just swaddling clothes,

a wooden manger,

and I–

no queen

to bear such a Prince,

nor saint,

to live such a calling.

* * * * * * * *

But I gave

all I had:

a full breast,

embracing arms,

a kiss,

my heart.

* * * * * * * *

For in that divine moment,

on that dark night,

my life opened

and Love came–

and I was saved.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

