Nativity

One dark night,
my life opened,
and Love came–
not in a chariot
drawn by fine, white horses,
but after agonizing pain,
He slipped,
screaming,
into my arms
and changed this world forever.
.
There were no princely robes
nor stately palace
with a soft, warm bed
to welcome this King of Kings–
just swaddling clothes,
a wooden manger,
and I–
no queen
to bear such a Prince,
nor saint,
to live such a calling.
.
But I gave
all I had:
a full breast,
embracing arms,
a kiss,
my heart.
.
For in that divine moment,
on that dark night,
my life opened
and Love came–
and I was saved.
Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. ..and love came… beautiful – thanks for sharing and wishing you a
    merry christmas!

    Reply
  2. This Christmas was much busier for me than last year’s holiday season. I have spent very few quiet moments with the Lord meditating on His birth. I have been looking forward to this evening when all the hustle and bustle is over, and I can finally spend some time with Jesus. This poem is beautiful, and it has helped me to worship Him. Thank you, friend, for posting your poetry. I have read each poem, and they have blessed me.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful poem from Mary’s perspective, a more intimate take on the birth. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  4. Scent of my heart

     /  January 8, 2011

    Ah, that was divine to read. The magic of giving birth! Well done!

    Reply
  5. Scent of my heart

     /  January 8, 2011

    Happy New Year!

    Today I want to introduce you to a flexible poetry forum, it is Jingle Poetry Monday Potluck, you link in a poem related to our theme (Week 17 Theme is The Road Ahead), or 1 to 3 poems that are old or unrelated to our theme, enjoy some traffic and encouragement…if you wish to fit in our community better, you feel free to visit and comment as many entries as you wish from our collection, how cool it is?!

    Please check us out at http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Let me know if you have questions.

    We are open Sunday, 8pm until Wednesday, 8pm, American Central time.

    If you wish sign in with your yahoo or Google email to follow our blog so that you know our updates.We value your attention, hope to see you in.

    Reply
  6. This is refreshing…lovely poetry, you got real talent here.

    our potluck week 17 is open now, welcome linking in 1 to 3 old poems as the first time participant…

    Enjoy a lovely Monday!
    🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

