The Wolf

If you had been dressed in my grandmother’s nightgown,
I might have realized that your mouth could
swallow me whole in one big gulp, 
that if I took one step closer, I would disappear.
.
Had you been dressed like a sheep,
I might have noticed something not-quite-right,
like an aversion to grass, or a glint in your eyes 
of desire for consuming human souls.
.
But you came dressed like Superman,
breathing forceful words of deliverance,
with white-hot vision that cracked open my soul
and laid a feast bare before you.
 .
I should have seen the death behind
your facade of selflessness–
but your hunger for me
looked like love.
 
Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Wow…very powerful, Karla. Prayers for you…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

